The End Is Nigh

Lose The TextDon’t fear. This is not going to be the post where I claim to be the second coming and prophesies the end of days. Although I guess that’s going to happen within the next million years or so, but for now I have more pressing information for you.

I’m getting towards the end of the first draft of the next novel, Blind Faith. I’m up to 60-something thousand words and the end is in sight. But, it very nearly wasn’t yesterday.

I’ve mentioned before about the character-led process I’ve been following this time, and it’s kind of worked but I’ve discovered a huge weakness. This might have appeared obvious to you but, I didn’t really know how it was going to end.

I trusted in the process and it took me so far but yesterday the wheels came off. I’d ploughed through two-thirds and the characters were forming nicely, but then I realised I had no idea how it was all going to come back together for the end that I wanted.

So, what I did was, I meditated. In other words, I closed my eyes and I just started daydreaming. Quite quickly, the unravelled ends began to knot back together and, I even started thinking of components that needed to be planted in earlier to appear later as well. The lights began to switch on for the entire remaining runway.

I was in Evernote on the iPad frantically writing it down before any of it was forgotten. The energy was huge and, afterwards, yesterday was the best writing session I’ve had for weeks. The best bit is that I can see myself keeping that motivation now until the deadline I’ve given myself in two weeks time.

So, I thought I’d report that it’s on its way and soon I’ll be in editing mode, moaning about how shit I am.

Until next time…

What d'you think?

