The 18 Behaviours of Highly Creative People

unleash_your_writing_creativityI’ve just read an article in the Huffington Post called, 18 Things Highly Creative People Do Differently. Scott Kaufman at New York University has researched creativity and has identified 18 behaviours that seem to be more prevalent in artists.

Go in to the article to read more about it, but I wanted to list the 18 traits here so that you can run down them and see how many you tick.

The 18 Behaviours Of Highly Creative People

  1. They daydream
  2. They observe everything
  3. They work the hours that work for them
  4. They take time for solitude
  5. They turn life’s obstacles around
  6. They seek out new experiences
  7. They have a healthy attitude to failing
  8. They ask the big questions
  9. They people watch
  10. They take risks
  11. They view all of life as an opportunity for self-expression
  12. They follow their true passions
  13. They get out of their own heads
  14. They lose track of the time
  15. They surround themselves with beauty
  16. They connect the dots
  17. They constantly shake things up
  18. They make time for mindfulness

So, how many of these make sense to you?

Until next time…

6 responses to “The 18 Behaviours of Highly Creative People

  1. Most of them, and yet I never considered myself to be creative. What a lovely boost! Thank you.

  2. Katharine Paljug

    I’m not sure I agree with number 13 – I know a lot of creative people who have major trouble getting out of their own heads! But other than that, I think the list is spot on. Thanks for sharing!

    (Found you when I was googling a Scrivener how-to, so thanks for that as well!)

    • Yeah, maybe you’re right. I’m often in my head for too long, but when i’m in there, I don’t think I am, which might mean I’m out of it as well. Weird.

      I’m glad the Scrivener thing helped too.

  3. I would have to say ‘all of the above’. At least now I’m retired and don’t have to follow someone else’s schedule. 🙂

What d'you think?

