Progress Is Good (aka Full Steam Ahead)

radio-control-pirate-ship-boatIt’s seems like only yesterday when I blogged about starting the first draft of my next novel, Blind Faith. I’m now happy to report that I’m probably a third of the way through already. I’m up to 30,000 words in 3 weeks and I’m right on track to get it finished by mid-March.

Within the same period I’ve had the usual shenanigans but I’ve managed to stick to my target and keep moving forward. I’ve had a few late nights and a bit of weekend writing, but you’ve got to. keep. moving. forward.

I mentioned the Progress Principle the other day and I’ve been using this approach to look just in front of my nose all the way. The fact that I’ve just realised today that I’m probably a third of the way through is pure coincidence. I’ve not been looking past the 2,000 words a day target (or the 10,000 words a week one) since I began.

It’s much easier to worry about the next page than it is to worry about the remainder of the book. Who cares where it ends up? That’s the point of the 2nd draft. The 1st draft is all about getting it down. It’s about beating the blank page and once you’re victorious you can then craft it into something beautiful. Art is made in the edit, the 1st draft is still part of the planning stage.

So, instead of resting on my laurels, I’m going to rip through the next third and then the next third. When I get to the end I may do something else for a few weeks (I’ve got an idea), but who cares, I’m loving the 1st draft at the moment because there just aren’t any rules. It’s writing in its purest form.

Until next time…

4 responses to “Progress Is Good (aka Full Steam Ahead)

  1. You sound SO much more positive this time around. Why do you think that is the case? Is it to do with the knowledge and experience you’ve gained from producing the other 3 books…..I’ve included the Christmas stories as one of your books because even though it’s short stories it’s still a book! Or could it be that the idea for the current book is completely new whereas the previous ones were based on your ideas that had been knocking around in your head for a little while?
    Probably doesn’t matter…….Just an interesting thought I had whilst sitting here drinking coffee and eating cake!

    • It’s a good point, Mrs RC. I do feel more positive and I think it has something to do with all of the above. It’s a new story, which is great; I’m not riddled with self-doubt anymore, which is great, and I know that I’m going to get it out and move on to the next one. A blog post perhaps. ???

  2. If there’s one thing I learned doing NaNo, it’s to leave my inner editor out of the picture until I’m done writing. Sounds like you’re doing a great job on your first draft!

What d'you think?

