Why I’m Excited About My New Novel

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERAI’ve finally started writing my next novel, which will be called Blind Faith. After a load of time spent on thinking about it, and it’s characters, and it’s message, and it’s arc, and it’s blah, blah, blah, I’ve now just jumped in.

It’s quite daunting really and I think that’s why I’ve been sub-consciously putting it off a little. I’ve definitely become a better writer over the last couple of years. I no longer have a fear that I’m completely and utterly shit, but I really want to be good as well. The proof of that will eventually be in other’s hands.

I want this next book to be the best yet. I want it to be funny and entertain but I also want it to make people think a little at the same time. That’s going to be hard. Anyway, I started writing it a couple of days ago and it’s actually my first ‘first draft’ for about two years. The end seems a long way away so instead of focussing on that, I’m just concentrating on the bit in front of me and I’ll see where it goes.

Let me tell you a bit about the theme and the reason why I wanted to write something like this. First of all it’s a love story between a man and a woman who are each down on their luck for one reason or another. That’s going to be the main thread through the entire story. It’ll be funny as well, so the term Rom-Com should be able to be applied to it.

It’s called Blind Faith though because of two other vital facts. The main character who comes from an extremely religious background becomes blind. The story really is his journey through dealing with a sudden disability and the mockery that religion sometimes plays.

I have a disabled daughter and I’m very aware of society’s reaction to disability and I want to write something that highlights that a little. I’m also interested in how a person comes to terms with a disability that prevents them from living their old life. However, I can’t keep a straight face for too long so it’ll definitely be coming at the issue from a humorous slant.

The thing about religion also interests me a great deal. I can’t quite believe that people in this day and age still allow themselves to turn their mind away from science and reason, on an ancient myth. This blinkered way of living of course creates hypocrisy and contradiction because it’s impossible to believe passionately in something and accept other beliefs at the same time.

Most of the time though this is fine. It’s harmless and it helps people get through their lives and that can’t be a bad thing. Who am I to judge anyone? And I honestly don’t want to at all. However, one of the times when I find it incredibly insulting and offensive is when it’s pushed on to other people that are vulnerable. Often when people are sick or, in this case disabled, they are told to believe in some man-made illusion to help them through it. By doing that they’ll ‘cure’ themselves of the abnormality and they’ll be rewarded.

I want to explore these themes in the modern world and portray how different people may react in a crisis situation. I’m really excited by it and I hope you come along with me.

Until next time…

2 responses to “Why I’m Excited About My New Novel

  1. Sounds intriguing. It’s great to be excited about a new project.

What d'you think?

