How To Keep To Your New Year’s Resolutions

Job-Search-GoalsIt’s that time of the year once again, in case you’ve had your head under a rock, when it’s obligatory to declare a ‘better you’ to the rest of the world. Some question the value of making promises to yourself at the beginning of each year but I think they’re incredibly important.

If you don’t spend sometime trying to figure out where it is that you want to go, then how on earth will you ever get there. It’s the most important thing for a content and successful life. It gives you purpose, it makes you feel rewarded and above all else, if you achieve the goals then you’ll get to where you want to get to.

I don’t think it’s important that you make these promises at New Year, but it’s as good a time as any. There’s something natural about turning over a new leaf in the new year. You can really use the lull of January to bed in some new habits that will ultimately become who you are. After all, your habits become your behaviours and your behaviours make you who you are.

There are two reasons why some people fail with their new year’s resolutions. They’re either completely unrealistic or there’s no effort made to track progress against them. You’ll never meet any goal if you don’t have a path plotted to get to it. You need a strategy and then you need to stick to that strategy.

Along the way your motivation will dwindle but that’s when you need to reinforce why it is that you want to achieve it. Without an iron cast desire to reach a target then you’re probably going to struggle.

But the beauty of resolutions is the momentum that soon picks up. Once you’ve started achieving lower level goals that are putting you on the right path, your motivation actually increases. You start to feel good about yourself, and your belief about achieving the goals grows stronger.

If you want to achieve all of these feel-good endorphins then you have to have a plan. A plan for where you want to get to and how you’re going to get there, and then the rest of it is up to you.

I have various aspects to my lifestyle all of which have a new set of goals and targets for 2014, all of which excite me and are spurring me on to make this year the best year of my life. My writing goals are as follows.

  • I’ll be writing and publishing two novels this year
    • This is based on my experience so far of how long it takes me to write and edit a book
  • I’ll be writing 10,000 words a week
    • Again this is my own personal experience of my sweet spot
  • I’ll be dedicating certain periods to just writing
    • In 2013 I have tried to do lots of things all of the time and I’ve found my focus has suffered
    • In 2014, when I’m writing that is solely what I’m going to be doing
  • I’ll continue to write 3 posts a week for this blog
    • focussing on self-publishing changes and my own experiences of writing
  • I’m going to sell more books
    • I’ll be concentrating more on promotion
    • I’ll be putting more effort into physical book sales as well
  • I’ll continue my efforts to secure the services of an agent

So, that’s it. If I can achieve these targets then I’ll be a better writer by the end of the year, I’ll have sold more books and I’ll have a larger body of work. That’s all you can do as a writer and then the rest is up to someone else. Your goals must be achievable only by you, if you’re dependent on someone else doing something then you’ll never be fully accountable.

I’m looking forward to 2014 and I hope you make similar targets that mean something to you.

Until next time…

What d'you think?

