The 12 Days of Christmas

20131211-092531.jpg

I’m busy writing my next novel at the moment and trying like hell to sell my other books at the same time, oh and I’m running two more businesses and somewhere in between all of this, I’m attempting to be a dad and a husband. This isn’t to mention being in a band and a football team as well. So, I’m a little bit busy right now but that doesn’t mean that this blog should suffer because of it.
I’ve grown to think of this blog as a necessary part of my day. If I don’t show up then I feel as though something’s missing. Now, you may consider yourself to be one of my loyal followers, or perhaps just someone who in a moment of weakness pressed follow and ever since has been bombarded by my inane ramblings, or you’re simply a first timer, nervously peering in to the blog unsure if it’s for you. (Especially considering you typed ‘Grannies with bums on their faces’ into Google)

But, anyway, as I said, this blog should not suffer because of my inability to say ‘no’ to tasks which I love to get involved with. This blog is good for me. It forces me to get writing every day, it means I learn stuff because I have to search around a topic before I write about it, and lastly, it forces me to be sober at 9 o’clock every morning.
One of the challenges of writing a blog is deciding on the what the hell to write about every day. I mean, if you read this regularly then you can probably tell the mornings in which I’ve still not found anything after I’ve finished. In fact, you’re probably thinking that this post is one of those, right now, hmmm?
Well, actually there is a point to all of this. I’m going to give the readers of this blog a little Christmas present each day. I’m going to write a short piece of fiction every day in the run up to Christmas and post it here. It’s Flash Fiction, baby, although that term just conjures up stories about flashers to me. I’m calling it ‘The 12 Days of Christmas’ because everything is given that name at this time of the year and I hate being imaginative.
I’m going to aim for funny, probably land nearer to stupid, and on some days touch on the dark, manic depressive. The stories will be vaguely about Christmas because otherwise, what’s the point? If you have any themes which you would like me to cover then let me know, and we can have a bit of audience participation. Think of it as a Christmas Work Party, we’re all friends, we kind of spend most mornings with each other, and I’ve grown to think of some of your avatars as almost family.
I’ve written a Christmas collection of short stories called, The Christmas Number One, and so a sequel called ‘The Christmas Number Two’ is crying out to be published. Unsurprisingly, these stories will probably form the content of such a release, so you could be a part of something now which one day you could tell your Grandchildren about. Wow!
It’s all pretty exciting, isn’t it? So, let me know any suggestions underneath, and if you happen to glance down and not see any others then perhaps you could start the ball rolling.
Until next time…

4 responses to “The 12 Days of Christmas

  1. Michael, how about “The Christmas Flasher”? The idea popped right out of your post this morning. I picture many a humorous twist to something titled as such. At any rate, looking forward to reading what you post in the days ahead. 🙂

  2. As long as “The Christmas Number Two” is not about the after effects of too many brussel sprouts, port and stilton then I’m looking forward to reading it!

What d'you think?

