The Upcoming Christmas Show

photoHere’s the news you’ve all been waiting for… it’s true, I’m attending the prestigious, and incredibly glamorous, Bournemouth Festive Gift Fair at the weekend. Yep, I know, pretty special, huh? And, it’s not just for one day, oh no, it’s for two big whopping days. I can’t wait.

I’ve been to fairs like this before as a spectator/shuffler but never to sell my wares. That’s not strictly true actually. I’ve sat behind the odd table in the past, I can’t lie, but never to sell my own books. And it’s at the Bournemouth International Centre, yeah, that’s right, INTERNATIONAL. Let’s go, baby.

The last time I was at the BIC (as it’s known to its friends) was to watch Kevin ‘Bloody’ Wilson (ever heard of him?) when I was about 15. How was I to have known back then that one day I would be plying my trade within its very walls? ‘Dream come true’ is overused these days but in this case it definitely would be.

Well… maybe I’m ladling it on a bit thick but I am sort of looking forward to it. I’ve never sat behind my books before, so this is going to be a big deal for me. The books are all printed, posters are ready, cards are in place, a tablecloth is packed, and I have some loose change in case I actually sell a few. Let’s ‘ave it!

I’m going to be there for 2 days and yet I have no expectations at all in terms of how many I’m going to sell. It’ll be a complete surprise if one person buys one book so anymore than that will be a bonus.

photoThe jewel in the crown is my Christmas book, The Christmas Number One and Other Stories, which I’ve printed up in the exact dimensions of a CD. It looks like a Christmas single and that’s exactly what I wanted because the main story is all about a race to the Christmas no.1 slot. I’m hoping that this is going to look like an appealing, and irresistible, stocking filler. The perfect gift for the one you love.

I’m also going to offer a book bundle for a discount, where readers can buy all 3 of my books for a criminally low price. Hopefully, these two ideas will clean me out and I’ll have to call in for replenishments.

But, apart from the fun I’m going to have on the days when I’m there, this is the first step on marketing more actively. I need to get out to the people, man. Too much sitting at this keyboard is turning me into Jack Nicholson from The Shining. People are good. I want to start spreading the word, literally.

So, I’ll let you all know how it goes next week.

Until next time…

One response to “The Upcoming Christmas Show

  1. Michael, don’t forget, this year it is a the Bournemouth Pavilion

What d'you think?

