So, How Easy Is It To Get An Agent?

Secret-Agent-Young-VicThis is something that I’m soon going to find out. I’ve finally decided that an Agent could be the answer to the empty hole in my life, the answer to my prayers (if indeed I actually prayed) and, the way I see it at the moment, the answer to the Middle-East Peace Crisis.

Self-publishing has been great for me up until now. I am a writer… sorry, let me say that again, I AM A WRITER. Before I started self-publishing I was a redundant accountant. I now have two novels under my belt and a book of short stories. I don’t know if I would’ve written this much in the timeframe if I’d not been able to publish, and this has helped me to develop.

But… I now feel as though there’s a next step that I need to reach. Validation perhaps, or a supporter from the industry which I very much want to be a part of. Wouldn’t it be great for an agent to sell my stories on my behalf?

I love what I do at the moment. I love waking up and writing. I love the future which I imagine each night when I close my eyes. I want to be a writer forever. This sounds childish, naive maybe, idealistic definitely, but why not? I don’t consider myself to be a poet, that isn’t the end I’m aiming for, I’m not a tortured soul who has to purge particular demons from within. I just love making up stories and telling them to people.

I could do that on my own, and I am, but in order to sustain this life forever I need to join in. I want to be a part of the machine. I want my stories to become films, translated, stage plays, I want them to be told to as many people as possible. I could do all of this on my own, but then I’d need a double who could then carry on writing for me. Plus, what a steep learning curve it would be to achieve all of that on my own?

The journey has taken me to here for a reason and I now feel ready for the next step. So… to get an agent… easy, yeah?

I’ll be doing the usual thing, which is laid down in literary folklore, and I’ll be making a list of all suitable agents to query. The slush pile beckons, absorbing new writers’ hopes and dreams with an appetite that won’t be fulfilled. I’ll be joining the ranks of those other worthy foot soldiers who all have a story from the publishing trenches.

The good news is, in the meantime, I’ll be continuing in the same way as I have been up until now. Persistence and determination is what’s required, and if it was just down to ability then only a third of the world’s books would be printed. I’ll keep you posted.

Until next time…

8 responses to “So, How Easy Is It To Get An Agent?

  1. Good luck, and keep your readers posted.

  2. Good luck, Michael. I am in the same boat as you, I think. Keep at it! 🙂

  3. And it sounds so classy to say things like,”….as I was saying to my Agent only the other day!”
    However, are you not in danger of giving up a part of your writing/publishing freedom?
    You haven’t given a rationale for your decision…….Just the decision. This is unusual for you, based on your musings to date.
    These comments are just that……they’re comments not criticisms.
    I’d be interested in your responses!

  4. So, how do you even figure out where to find a good agent?

    • This is a good question and one that I don’t really feel qualified to answer just yet. Perhaps if I get a good agent, I’ll let everyone know. At the moment I’m just trawling agent websites and querying those agents who I feel could be a fit.

What d'you think?

