The Blurb For Plaster Scene – Help Wanted

Listening-EarLast time I wrote a blurb for the back of a book I posted it on here first and received some excellent comments. So, I shall do it again and ask you to tell me what you think.

Plaster Scene is a farcical comedy, similar to Tom Sharpe, which involves a kind of treasure hunt to secure something that a hippy has left in a beach hut since the sixties.

I obviously want the blurb to make the story sound intriguing enough without giving too much away. So, without further ado…

Celia Siddington had really lived. She was cool, she was a hippy, and she had held on to a secret stash for nearly fifty years… but then she died…

Thankfully, she came back to life, long enough to pass on a vital clue to her useless nephew, Henry, before dying again.

But, once Henry tells his terrifying wife, Claudia, it sets the wheels in motion for a farcical mission to secure the mystery inheritance. A staged mugging, an alien abduction and a wetsuit clad gunman are all involved on the way to the shocking discovery, which will remould the shape of history forever. 

In the midst of this confusion, young and desperate George Spencer, is unwittingly forced to find everything he’s ever wanted. 

Plaster Scene is a story which proves that love leaves a lasting impression.

Comments please…

6 responses to “The Blurb For Plaster Scene – Help Wanted

  1. 1. My first question was who is George Spencer? Maybe a few words to tell readers who he is: “In the midst of this confusion, George Spencer, Celia’s young and desperate long-lost son,…”

    2. Consider changing farcical to something a little more friendly to the masses, such as amusing or ludicrous.

    3. Thankfully, she came back to life, long enough to pass on a vital clue to her useless nephew, Henry, before dying again – She came back to life? Was this a freakish twist of fate? Giver readers a bit of insight as to why.

    Sounds intriguing. Will it be available on the B&N Nook?

  2. I agree with Gwen’s comments 1 and 2…. but disagree with #3. I like the suspense, I can tell that how/why Celia came back to life is not a major point of the story, but I am certain I’ll find out how and why, when I read the book.
    But let me add
    4. I’m confused by the suggestion that the fact that the wife is terrifying is the reason why things go awry — or perhaps that’s wrong? I can’t figure out how a terrifying person could set the wheels in motion.

  3. Agree with the comments about George and ‘farcical.’ The rest I like…but…the sentence beginning ‘A staged mugging, an alien abduction ..’ was the stadn out piece for me…but it feels a little stilted. I think its the word ‘involved’…makes the sentence seem clunky. <aybe drop that whole middle part: '…gunman will unravel and reshape history as we know it.' make it stand out more?

    Anyhoo, sounds intriguing AND THIS ONE HAS ALIENS! Brilliant 🙂

What d'you think?

