Happy Endings – by Jon Rance

Happy-Endings-frontIt’s my absolute pleasure to bring about a slight change to my usual blog posts today. Instead of the ramblings from an insecure, wannabe best-selling author, I can introduce a proper best-selling author to the fold. I got to know about Jon from his book This Thirtysomething Life, and since then he’s been signed by Hodder & Stoughton and done the business. His new book is out today and I’m honoured that he’s telling us about it here. Over to you, Jon…

 

Hello,

Firstly I’d like to thank Michael for hosting me today. For those of you who don’t know me, I’m Jon Rance, author of the romantic comedy diary, This Thirtysomething Life, originally self-published before it was picked up by Hodder and Stoughton. I met Michael on Twitter. We’re both Southampton boys and writers of comedy, so it seemed like a good fit. Today sees the release of my second novel Happy Endings and so here I am. Hello. It’s nice to meet you.

Happy Endings is the story of two couples; Kate and Ed and Jack and Emma; four late twentysomethings all searching for their own version of a happy ending in modern day London. Told uniquely from all of their perspectives, it follows them for six months through their many ups and downs, as each of them tries to find their own happy ending while dealing with past demons and current dilemmas. Kate just wants to go travelling, while her long-term boyfriend Ed wants to settle down and get married. Jack wants to be a published writer for many reasons, but mainly to save his relationship with fiancée Emma. Emma wants to be an actress more than anything in the world, or at least that’s what she thinks.

hodder2

Happy Endings is a book that’s been quite a few years in the making. It’s a story I’ve wanted to write for a while and it’s been through quite a few versions. The problem I had was always the same. I wanted to write a proper ensemble piece with multiple characters and stories. The difficulty is that often when I read an ensemble story myself or watch an ensemble film, one or more stories is interesting and then the others aren’t quite so good and so I’m just waiting to get back to the story and characters I do like. I didn’t want that to happen. I didn’t want any fluff or padding, and so I had to write four believable, brilliant characters with four inter-connected but page-turning stories. Easier said than done. I hope I’ve got it right

Today is publication day and it’s the day that writers fear the most. The day my baby goes off into the big wide-world and readers get to tear me apart on Amazon. Writing is such a solitary process and yet the finished article is about as public as you can get. All I can do now is cross my fingers and hope people like it. The response I’ve had so far has been wonderful, but the true test is yet to come. I hope you like it and I look forward to hearing from you.

A BIG thank you again to Michael for having me on his blog. Happy Endings is out today in eBook format with the paperback due out on October 10th.

Cheers,

Jon X

You can follow Jon on Twitter @JRance75 or on his website www.jonrance.com

Click here to buy your copy:

What d'you think?

