What Does 10,000 Hits Mean To Me?

blog_10kTime to roll out the old Joanna and have a hearty singsong. This blog has just passed the 10,000 hits milestone. It surprised me how quickly it has achieved this number and who on earth you people are.

I set out on the 21st of July last year to write a blog that would concentrate on self-publishing, and some of the lessons that I’ve learnt along the way. I didn’t know how long I would keep it going for or how many people would be that arsed about reading it, but I set off nonetheless with hope in my heart. Over that seven month period however, I’ve gained all sorts of benefits that I never appreciated at the beginning.

Statistics

If you’ve read this blog for a while then you’ll know that I love my numbers. Somehow their objectivity gives me a comfortable feeling of certainty, making me feel like I know what I’m talking about. So here’s the important numbers for the blog:

  • Duration – 7 months (almost exactly)
  • Total Hits – 10,000
  • Average hits per month – 1,429
  • Average hits per day – 47
  • No. of Posts – This is my 139th
  • No. of Followers – 114
  • Country with the Most Readers – UK (3,685)
  • Country with the 2nd Most Readers – US (3,321)
  • Country with the Least Readers – Yemen (1)

The exponential growth is what you’re after with a blog as it becomes more established, and below shows that largely this has held true (albeit for an unnatural spike at Xmas time). However, February is on course to improve upon Decembers high.

Screen Shot 2013-02-19 at 11.18.40

 

Benefits

I never realised that I would get that much back from this blog. Sometimes it can feel like I’m shouting into a big hole and at other times I feel like I’m on a massive stage, but as time goes by and more readers get to know of it, the stage delusion happens more frequently.

Discipline

The first benefit I enjoyed was the discipline it helped me install as a writer. When you spend your days pontificating about a story in your head, it’s very easy to go mad and also lose your steam. This blog has made me turn up every morning and think of something of value to write about. After seven months that takes a lot of discipline. Writers need to write though and even when you’re stuck in the editing process this blog has made me write something every day.

Development 

As well as the continuous development I have gained as a writer by simply writing more, this blog has also made me search for information that I doubt I would have without it. I want to provide value in my posts, I want to help others to avoid the time-wasting trial and error, and so I turn up every day with something to say. It won’t surprise you to know that some days I have nothing to say but I force myself to get out there until I find something. That pressure has made me develop faster than I ever would have.

Community

As the blog has gone on, more people have become involved. I’ve started to feel like I’m a member of a community rather than on a soapbox. The power of support and sharing of ideas is immeasurable. I love every one of your comments and prioritise my time so that I respond before anything else. I especially love the comments that say that one of my tips has helped, but equally if someone gives me something that I’ve not come across then I’m incredibly appreciative too.

Confidence

I am a writer who, apart from a book of short stories at Christmas, is still waiting to publish the first two novels. Like any writer in that position, self-doubt and crises of confidence occur regularly. This blog though has gone a long way to making me feel more secure about my ability. Thanks to nice comments, pats on the back, and mentions in other places. I am eternally grateful for these.

Friends

Being a writer is an incredibly lonely profession. I sit at my desk, day after day, looking out at the sea and typing nonsense into this plastic keyboard. It’s what I do, I love it, but it’s lonely. This blog has helped me to realise that other people are also sat at their plastic keyboards, talking to themselves and looking forward to walking into the kitchen to make a cup of tea in half an hour. That cheers me up and pushes me on. So thank you for that.

Overall

This blog has reached 10,000 hits because of you. I am forever grateful for your wisdom that you so freely share, your time that you spend reading this, your support and the knowledge that if I start writing shit then you won’t turn up tomorrow. I encourage every writer to have a blog and not because you have to, not because it’s a chore, not because some writing website says it’s about marketing, but because you gain more from it than you would ever imagine.

Thank you for reading.

8 responses to “What Does 10,000 Hits Mean To Me?

  1. Congrats on 10k hits! I loved looking at your statistics, and you stated the benefits of blogging quite succinctly. Couldn’t agree more.

  2. Well done, Michael! An invariably good and informative read can be found here.
    John

  3. Congrats! We just hit the ‘500 likes’ mark… funny how addictive WordPress stats can be.

  4. Well done you!….and well done all of us, who are doing the reading! Keep it going.

  5. I got over 10,000 hits about a month ago… Never thought anything of it! Certainly didn’t study the stats! That must by why I gave up accounting! Ha ha ha

What d'you think?

