Whoopee, I’ve just won a Liebster Award… a what?

liebsterblogawardThe breaking news has been confirmed, I have indeed been nominated by a kind, deluded chap to win one of these Liebster Awards. It’s very nice – there are worse things in life – but I had no idea of what one was, or what it would cost me.

I googled it but could not find its origin.  All I know is that it has been circulating in blog land for a while. Liebster is apparently a German word for sweet, favourite and dearest. I believe it’s a way of recognising bloggers that you like, so if that’s the case then thank you awfully Nat Russo for putting me up for one.

The Rules

  1. Post the award image on your blog. There are several varieties. Google them and find the one you like the most.
  2. List 11 random facts about yourself.
  3. Answer the 11 questions asked by the person/people who nominated you.
  4. Make up 11 questions for those to be nominated.
  5. Nominate 11 people to receive the award. They should have fewer than 200 followers on their blog.
  6. If you’re nominated, your name and/or link will appear at the bottom of this post. Follow the same script and spread the love.

It seems a little like one of those terrible wastes of time where you just annoy eleven other people (and I thought it was for a moment) but actually it’s a genuine nod to those blogs that you enjoy. So let’s have a go…

11 Facts About Myself

  1. I relocated to the Isle of Wight from Manchester 18 months ago and still love it. It feels like I’m on holiday constantly. 
  2. I was the bass player in an indie band for ten years.
  3. I used to swim and run cross-country for Hampshire when I was a teenager.
  4. I love pizza but hate quiche.
  5. I’m married and have twins, one of each variety. I often look at them and wonder quite how it all happened.
  6. I found I liked reading and writing quite late on in life in comparison with some writers that claim they were in to Dickens in the womb. I was in to sport more than books until the sport gave me up and I had to find other things to do. Since that moment though, something was born inside of me that hasn’t stopped growing since.
  7. My daughter has special needs and the world that it has opened my eyes to humbles me everyday.
  8. I’m from Southampton and support the Saints (the football team), never missing a home game.
  9. I also own a life-coaching and change management business that is growing into a nice little thing. I fell into this by using the same techniques in my own life and finding that it isn’t all airy-fairy mumbo jumbo. It’s given me the tools, the confidence, the ability to take the leap and change from an accountant to someone that makes up stuff all day. I now love helping others to find what it is that they want to do.
  10. I’ve recently started thinking that maybe I’ll do an Ironman one day.
  11. I like to stay happy and positive because I know it’s not a bad life really. If you want to be miserable then that’s fine but keep it to yourself please.

11 Questions asked by Nat

  1. If you could live in one of your story worlds, where would it be and why? I love PG Wodehouse and I’d love to live in the twenties in a stately home. Crazy people running around, drinking Pimms all day and playing croquet and billiards.
  2. Dark chocolate or milk chocolate? Milk chocolate all the way. Dark chocolate is the devils work.
  3. After the first draft is complete, do you take a systematic approach to revision, or just do a read-through and fix what needs fixing? If systematic, describe your system. Producing a first draft has been like curling out a turd, and then all subsequent edits and re-writes polish it into some kind of presentable form that looks like a book rather than a turd. Systematic; 1st draft – 2nd draft (big chunks rewritten) – beta-readers – 3rd draft – proofreading – 4th draft – Done.
  4. Reese’s Peanut Butter cups, or Twix? Twix because I’m English and not everything comes with peanut butter over here. 🙂
  5. Do you prefer to write happy endings or not-so-happy endings? Why? Always happy endings. I write to entertain people for the time that they’re reading the story. I want to leave them happy and feeling good about themselves, not crushed and devastated.
  6. Dogs or cats? And yes, there is a correct answer! Explain why you have the correct answer 🙂 Cats, I have 3. But they’re more my wife’s. Never had a dog and if I lived on my own I wouldn’t have any animals at all. I don’t get it.
  7. Do you have a method for approaching plots? Do you outline in advance, or simply free write and see where the story takes you? As I’m developing as a writer I’m definitely realising that I work better when I have a real detailed roadmap of what’s happening and when.
  8. Do you listen to music when you write? If so, what kind? No. I started to but found that I can’t get into the made up world when the music distracts me.
  9. Who was the headlining act at the last concert you attended? What do you like about them? I love rock n’ roll, especially the classic English rock sound. (You know, The Stones, Led Zep, Bowie, Kinks, T-Rex etc) but the last big gig I went to was The Stone Roses reunion. I genuinely think they were one of the most under-rated, underachieving bands of all time. They should have been massive, if only they’d have liked each other.
  10. If you could go back into the past and tell your younger self a single thing, what would it be and why? being cool comes from being yourself, you can’t force it.
  11. If you could step into the future and tell your future self a single thing, what would it be and why? Now that you’re sitting on your million pound yacht just remember that life was once harder than this. Be grateful for every single day that you’re alive and stay forever young.

11 Questions for my Nominees

  1. Who’s your favourite superhero?
  2. What makes you really mad?
  3. What’s the one film that you’ve liked but never owned up to?
  4. If you could change one thing in the world, what would it be?
  5. Summer or Winter?
  6. Beer or Wine?
  7. What’s your favourite period in history?
  8. Jimi Hendrix or Jim Morrison?
  9. Would you rather have ears or eyes?
  10. Who’s your favourite dead person?
  11. If you find yourself on your own, what’s the first thing you would do that you would feel slightly guilty of if someone walked in unexpectedly?

Ok, so that nearly wraps it all up. I hope you’ve been slightly interested by my answers and it’s given you some sort of an insight behind the veil of self-publishing that I hide behind.

These are the 11 bloggers that I nominate

I’m loving your work.

  1. Cristian Mihai
  2. Jacque D Howard
  3. Kayla Cruz
  4. Samir Rawas
  5. Angela Kelman
  6. Lian Trowers
  7. Joanne Phillips
  8. JW Nelson
  9. Clare Adams
  10. Lindsay Buroker

That’s that. Thanks again to Nat Russo.

What d'you think?

