How To Publish On Amazon Using KDP

Screen Shot 2013-01-02 at 21.35.38When I was planning out how much time I would need to publish my Christmas book, The Christmas Number One, I assumed I would need 2 days to publish on Amazon through KDP (Kindle Direct Publishing). That was thankfully over-estimated by a long way. It’s easy, quick, and if you have everything ready that I’m going to tell you about now, then you can do it in 30 minutes maximum.

It was so easy, in fact, that I was worried that I had done something wrong. In order to use KDP you must register first. This doesn’t take too long and it’s the usual stuff. (Make sure that you have your bank statement to hand in order to complete the international codes for your bank account) After you have registered, there are only 9 Sections to complete, and I’ll go through all of them here with you.

Screen Shot 2013-01-02 at 21.15.21

Assuming that you’ve managed to write the book yourself, I think you should be able to complete most of this. The one area that takes a little thought is the Product Description section. You actually have space to write quite a bit here but I don’t think you need to fill it. After a while it would be a good place to put leading reviews in, but when you first publish just keep it to the Synopsis. Don’t forget that you’re selling your book here. It needs to attract the type of reader you’re after and don’t play it down either.

Screen Shot 2013-01-02 at 21.20.05

If you’ve written it yourself then number 2’s the option. Easy.

Screen Shot 2013-01-02 at 21.21.32

Categories and keywords. Easy.

Screen Shot 2013-01-02 at 21.22.44

As long as you follow my advice from one of my previous posts then you’ll be fine.

Screen Shot 2013-01-02 at 21.24.13

This is where you upload your book file. Look at this post for compiling via Scrivener.

Screen Shot 2013-01-02 at 21.26.13Have a good look, just to make sure.

Screen Shot 2013-01-02 at 21.27.05Usually you’ll own Worldwide Rights.

Screen Shot 2013-01-02 at 21.28.49

Choose your pricing. Tomorrow’s post will tackle the strategies relating to this area.

Screen Shot 2013-01-02 at 21.30.07

What ever you want to do here. I can’t advise what to do for the best.

Publish

Screen Shot 2013-01-02 at 21.31.09

BOOM!!! All of that work, all of that worrying, all of those days spent staring at keyboards… it’s over. Let it fly, baby, let it fly.

So, that’s it. Piece of cake, right? It really is that easy and it took me about 30 minutes the first time because I was paranoid that I’d get something wrong. Within about 12 hours it was up on the Amazon sites and we were off.

I hope this has allayed some fears of the unknown, and the next post will be concentrating on the various Pricing Strategies that you could apply to your book.

 

 

2 responses to “How To Publish On Amazon Using KDP

  1. Pingback: Saturday Fiction Writers and Indie Publishers Round Up 18 | J.J.Foxe.com

What d'you think?

