Isle of Wight Literary Festival Short Story Entry 2

If you’d like to read a little story then please read this one and let me know what you think. It’s a delicate, fragile little thing, like the wing of a ladybird.

THE WEEKEND DIDN’T TURN OUT AS I EXPECTED, but then again, who could have seen that coming? When I saw her, through the rain, in the window of the coffee shop I couldn’t believe my eyes. Too many years had gone by.

Above the walls, that I’d put there to protect me, came the familiar pain rising to the top. I felt some tears welling in my eyes, and was desperately blinking them away before mustering the courage to approach her. I knew, whatever she said, I would have to be strong this time.

I watched her for a while, allowing the rain to fall down around me, and I considered walking away. The scars, that she left, had never healed and seeing her again had made me realise how deep they were. But I had to know.

I placed my hand on her shoulder and, as she turned around, I detected a brief look of shock before it was replaced with that comforting smile. We silently looked at each other and slowly she remembered the love we once had. While the rest of the world disappeared around us, I finally let myself believe that there could yet be hope.

Smiling as carefully as I dared, in order to prevent the sadness from pouring out, I tried to think of what to say. But before I could explain, her eyes suddenly shifted to above my right shoulder.

I was surprised at how easily I followed her gaze. He was taller than me and looked like an explorer, but worse still, he was smiling.

I knew.

Pathetically I smiled back at him, before nodding to her and then retreating to the comfort of the storm outside. Hoping that she wouldn’t hear the sound of my heart breaking all over again.

4 responses to “Isle of Wight Literary Festival Short Story Entry 2

  1. Better than the other one…………! go for it.

  2. I agree. You carry the reader very well through his perspective.

  3. Hello. splendid job. I did not expect this. This is a excellent story. Thanks!

What d'you think?

